Tag Archives: Vancouver Skal

December Minutes 2017

General Meeting Minutes

December 13 th Arbutus Club Annual Christmas Lunch

Greg Moon, President chaired the meeting

Check-in Team: David and Michael
Raffle: Richard and Ron

Toast to Queen: Greg Moon
SKAL Toast: Brian Veitch

December Birthdays: Karim-Randy- Angus-Darren- Steve Chen-Ayako-

Harvey informed the membership that nominations for the 2017 annual Tourism Award are now closed. The winner is the Vancouver Convention Centre, Ken Cretney will receive the award at our March 14 Skal Dinner. The event will be held at the Convention Centre.

Inductions: Brianne Kelly Young Skal was inducted by Greg Moon and Altan.
Welcome Brianne to our Club.

Guests: —Altan, has a guest
Sunita Anastasios has 3 guests,
Joanna/Demi/and Miriam
Randy Vanatter has a guest Rick Fisher
Beth Walters has a Guest Brian.
Doris Hager’s guest is her head Designer.
Shamir has a guest Robert Lewis
Ron has a guest Donna Hawrelko
Welcome to all Guests.

Draw Prizes – Richard –Ron and Randy
Grand Prize Draw Harvey and Randy

The Grand Prize winners from January to December 2017 were called forward. Randy controlled the cards. The one having the ace of hearts will win the $2500 in cash. Playing cards were distributed to each monthly winner.
The winner is Joyce Hayne..congratulations. Well done.
For those members who did not attend the lunch. We had a stand in for you.

Wines and other prizes:
Bottle of Champagne-Doris Hager
Wine with an aerator and another bottle of wine– -Randy
Wine Mark Elliott
Wine-Doris Hager
Wine-Gary Collinge
Wine-Donna Kawrelko
Wine-Robert Lewis
Wine two bottles—Rudolf
Wine- Shamir
Starbucks package-Gordon Z.
Sushi set—Rick Fisher
Snowman lighted set—Gordon Z
Congratulations to all the winners.

Harvey thanked the Arbutus Club Management and Staff for a fantastic Buffett and excellent service. All Club members stood and applauded.

Upcoming Meeting: January 10 th Frankie’s Jazz Club at the Georgian Court Hotel.
This will also be our Annual General Meeting.

Meeting Adjourned.
By Mr. Moon wished everyone a Merry Christmas and a
Happy New Year.

December Minutes

General Meeting Minutes

December 9 Christmas Lunch Arbutus Club

Check-in Team: David – Michael
Raffle: Ron
Toast to Queen: Stephen Peters
SKAL Toast: Rick Buecking

December Birthdays:
Randy Vannatter, Angus,  Darren Young ,and Steven Chen

Inductions: not this meeting. January 11th.

2016 Tourism Award Harvey advised the winner is Tourism Vancouver’s Info Centre. Ty Speers the CEO will be presented with the award at the January 11th meeting. Letter to be sent to Ty,

Alison Partridge Victoria Skal Club
Chris Bayliss Executive Director (Christmas Bureau)
Doris Hager, guest of Angus, Nash Qureshi guest of Angus
Trevor Scott’s guest is Cindy Schoenayer
All other Skal members if you have a guest please introduce.

Food Bank we raised $160 a check will be sent to them.

Chris Bayliss to said a few words how the Christmas Bureau is doing this year. He appreciated the gifts from the Skal Club and looks forward to 2017.

Stephanie Wells Capilano University Tourism Management Program will speak to the Young Skal Award received in Monaco this year. She wil do this at the January meeting.

Draw Prizes – Ivano and Michael
$ 2000.00 Cash Grand Prize   •The winner is Joyce Hayne Congratulations Joyce !
• Other prize draw items
• Tequila Ana
• Wine winners are Joyce Hayne, Valentina, James, Gordon, Mark and Angus congrats to all the winners.

Thanks to the Arbutus Club for a fantastic lunch and great service.
Brian Rohl thanked the CEO Brent Ellington and the entire kitchen and service teams. Well done

Upcoming Meeting:

Wednesday January 11th 2017 at the Georgian Court Hotel in Frankies Jazz Club notice will be sent to all skal members.

2016 $2000 Grand Prize Draw participants:

January – Waterhouse – Veitch – Hayne
February- Veitch – Chen – Waterhouse
March- Miller – Mastalir – Collinge
April- Lee H. – Vannatter – Krell
May- Durkin – Corazza – Storie J
June- Steven Chen-Trevor Scott-Jim Whyte
September- Ivano –Scott Johnston-Mark Elliott
October- Angus-Trevor-Mike Durkin
November- Richard Purcell-Lisa Jackson-Joyce Hayne
December- Mike Durkin-Stan Vanvorken-Donna Roka

For those who did not attend the lunch. We had a stand in for you.

The Winner is Joyce Hayne.

Skal Canada Vancouver

NEXT MEETING Wednesday June 10, 2020 on Zoom

Zoom Cockatil Reception at 5:00pm – 6:00pm