The Bill Rowe Memorial Tourism Award is given to a local individual, corporation or organisation that has significantly contributed to the success and growth of the tourism industry in Vancouver and British Columbia
Bill Rowe worked 39 years for Air Canada in a career which took he and his wife to many parts of the world.

Bill led a full life, active in numerous organisations (SKAL, Pionairs, SFU Board, Chaine des Rotisseurs) and was known for his bubbling, inquisitive, outgoing personality and kind, caring disposition.

He had a gift for making everyone from all walks of life feel welcome and important. Up to his passing in 2010 he organised the Tourism Award on behalf of Skal Canada Vancouver and it is for this reason the club honours his memory by annually presenting the Sk?l Int?l Vancouver, Bill Rowe Tourism Award to recognised leaders and organisations in the travel & tourism industry.

OBJECTIVE – the award will be presented to an individual or company who has notably, over an extended period of time,
enhanced the development of tourism and has contributed to the ethical values that are common to humanity.

JUDGING ? the judges are from a panel representing tourism, with backgrounds varying from small, medium, large and/or multi-national organisations. The nominations are judged by criteria set by Skal Canada Vancouver and the SkAl International code of ethics.

BENEFIT ? recognition associated with the award gives recipients the opportunity to elevate their profile and status within the tourism industry and to use this recognition in media and advertising material.




Previous Award recipients

2019 – The Wickaninnish Inn

2018 – Steve Halliday

2017  – The Vancouver Convention Centre

2016  – Tourism Vancouver’s Info Centre

2015  – Grouse Mountain

2014  – Cruise Lines International Association North West & Canada

2013  – Rick Antonson, President & CEO Tourism Vancouver

2012 – Pacific Coach Lines, Dennis Shikaze, President

2011 – Vancouver Attractions Group, Nancy Chilton, Executive Director

2010 – CanadianTourism Commission, President Michele McKenzie

2009 – Jim Storie, President Vancouver Trolley Company

2008 – Vancouver AM, (Vivian Farcas, President)

2007 – Vancouver International Airport, (Larry Berg, President)

2006 – Doug Keough, Travel Trade Publisher

2005 – Franzika Kaltineggar, International Conference Services

2004 – Nancy Stibbard, Capilano Suspension Bridge Attraction

2003 – Peter Armstrong, Great Canadian RailTours